My heavy bag is heavy.

My family ordered a heavy bag so we can practice with it. Yesterday, I tried putting it up myself. Hrm…not a good idea. It’s freaking too heavy to do on my own. Hahahaha! I wanted a Thai bag (shown below). I’ll probably buy one when I’ve saved up a bit more.

Combat Sports Muay Thai Heavy Bag 100 lb.

My Krav Maga teacher told me these are the best types of  heavy bags to work with in our style. They allow for high and low kicks, punches, elbows, etc. The reason for this is the height of the bag. From what she told me, it’s fairly close to hitting a person.  I’ll have the links to the product below. My micro Thai pads were ordered from this store (Combat Sports). They’re amazing and feel really good. I definitely recommend them for sparring practice.

Combat Sports Micro Muay Thai Pads

Make sure you have a trustworthy sparring partner when you use these. The person with the pads is in control during these practices because they’re the one being punched or kicked at. When they say punch, then you’re allowed to punch. When you punch with the right, you hit the left pad. Punch left, you hit the right pad. Basic safety rules. Be safe people. It’s not fun getting hurt when you’re training. No one wants to get punched full speed. If anything, get some proper training before you do stuff. Learn how to hold your fist correctly and whatnot.

The heavy bags we settled on came in a set. It’s actually kind of nice because there’s a pull up bar in the set and we currently don’t have one in our house. So…yay for pull up bars! I will do a pull up eventually!

Anyway, what we have is an Everlast Omnistrike Stand. The link I have below is a slightly different product. The pull up bar (of our stand) is a single bar instead of two handles. Both styles of this brand’s omnistrike stands can handle heavy bags up to 100lbs. The heavy bag we purchased is 70lbs and I believe it is a synthetic leather. 70lbs is the average weight of the heavy bags women train with. Personally, I would prefer a 100lbs bag, as I want to be ready for taking down grown men, not women my size.

 

Everlast 70lb Polycanvas Heavy Bag - SportsAuthority.com    Everlast MMA Omnistrike Stand - SportsAuthority.com

Well, there you go. My ramblings on heavy bags. I’m so excited to be punching things again. Regular practice is going to be super nice.

 

These are the links to each particular product. I recommend buying heavy bags from a brick-and-mortar store if you’re not ready to handle the cost of shipping it. Shipping can easily start out at $80 or $90.

Omnistrike Stand:   http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11978662

Example of a heavy bag:   http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=4217278

Micro Thai pads:   http://www.combatsports.com/csi/shields-thai-pads/thai-pads/combat-sports-micro-muay-thai-pads.html

Muay Thai Heavy Bag:   http://www.combatsports.com/csi/punching-bags-dummies/thai-bags/combat-sports-muay-thai-heavy-bag-100-lb.html